Click the List icon  to select a Daily or Monthly Calendar.

Loading Events
This event has passed.

Dataw Island Country Club – Beaufort, SC

THIS EVENTS IS SOLD OUT – Thank you

The Pat Conroy Literary Festival and the USCB Center for the Arts present a special brunch with Delia Owens, author of the New York Times #1 best-selling novel Where the Crawdads Sing. Introduced by fellow New York Times best-selling author and conservationist Mary Alice Monroe, Owens will appear at the Dataw Island Club on the island that inspired the home of the Wingo family in Pat Conroy’s The Prince of Tides.

Brunch registration is $45. Books will be available for sale and autographing.

Delia Owens’ lyrical and gripping debut novel is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising account of a murder investigation. Fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell will admire this stunning novel as Owens masterfully reveals the intricate beauties of nature through the eyes of a young girl abandoned by her family in the North Carolina marshland. Where the Crawdads Sing explores the stubborn wildness that resides in all of us and also examines the deeply human instincts that bind us to other people. Reese Witherspoon and Hello Sunshine selected Where the Crawdads Sing as their Book Club pick of September 2018 and will produce the film adaptation for FOX 2000.

Thought-provoking and deeply moving, Where the Crawdads reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Praise for WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING

“The wildlife scientist Delia Owens has found her voice in Where the Crawdads Sing, a painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature…”—New York Times Book Review

“Fierce and hauntingly beautiful… An astonishing debut.”—People Magazine

“Reminiscent of Barbara Kingsolver, this Southern-set period novel unfurls a whodunit against a typical coming-of-age tale, when a mysterious “Marsh Girl” becomes the primary suspect of a grisly crime.”—Entertainment Weekly

“The New Southern Novel…[a] lyrical debut…”—Southern Living

Photos as well as  short bios of all festival presenters are on the Presenter Page.
Click here…

Go to Top